Age 50 & Better: Age With Purpose

Our members Age 50 & Better experience a strong sense of belonging and a network of friends who provide support for sustained health and well-being. Through fun, safe and engaging programs, volunteer initiatives, activities and events, members increase their self-confidence and sense of achievement while building relationships and celebrating the success and milestones of others.

Register Online for 50 & Better Programs
First Coast Y 50 & Better  

Member Testimonials

SilverSneakers

If you’re a group retiree, or part of a Medicare Advantage or Medicare Supplement Health plan, you may already have a SilverSneakers membership. This active adult wellness program is offered by many Medicare plans across the nation. If you are eligible for SilverSneakers you can use any YMCA at no cost, and take advantage of all the services a standard membership covers, not just SilverSneakers classes!

Check your eligibility at https://www.silversneakers.com/join-in/.

Optum Fitness Advantage

The Optum Fitness Advantage Program provides eligible members with access to any YMCA at no cost. Plan holders of eligible Medicare Advantage Plans insured by United Healthcare Insurance can use the Optum Fitness Advantage Program. Eligible members can use all the services that are part of a standard membership. To find out if you’re eligible, call your health plan’s Customer Service Toll-Free number, on the back of your member ID card, or find out if you have a Confirmation ID number at: https://fitnessadvantage.optum.com/.

Age 50 & Better Rewards

The Age 50 & Better Rewards Program encourages Silver Sneakers and Optum Fitness Advantage members to attend any First Coast Y at least nine times in a month for the opportunity to win great monthly prizes. Through the use of a punch card, members turn in the card monthly for the opportunity to win monthly prizes and the annual grand prize.

Community Partners

  • AARP
  • Aetna/Coventry
  • Baptist Agewell Institute
  • Baptist Healthy Living Centers
  • Baptist AgeWell Institute
  • Brooks Rehabilitation
  • CarePlus
To learn how you can become a Healthy Aging Program Sponsor please contact Claire Watson-Irving, Director of Healthy Living Innovation:  Healthy Aging at 904.265.1795 or email cwatson-irving@fcymca,org

Branch Healthy Aging Coordinators

Baptist North Georgette Butler GButler@fcymca.org
Barco-Newton Kayla Van Bebber @fcymca.org
Brooks Sheri Nash snash@fcymca.org
Dye Clay Kristi Schermerhorn kschermerhorn@fcymca.org
Flagler Rasha El-Kasry relkasry@fcymca.org
Johnson Wanetta Sky Newbill wnewbill@fcymca.org
McArthur Karina Gilchrist kgilchrist@fcymca.org
Ponte Vedra Jennifer Roggen jroggen@fcymca.org
St Augustine Larry Raulerson lraulerson@fcymca.org
Williams Connie Smith csmith@fcymca.org
Winston Fredda Renshaw frenshaw@fcymca.org

Community Resources

Transportation

Jacksonville Transportation Authority

Seniors age 60 and older ride JTA free upon presentation of a STAR Card or government issued picture ID with birth date.  In St. Johns County, we recommend the Sunshine Bus.

Health Insurance

Shine

SHINE is a Free program offered by the Department of Elder Affairs in partnership with ElderSource. Specially-trained volunteers can assist you with your Medicare, Medicaid and health insurance questions by providing one-on-one counseling and information.

Caregiver

Caregiver Coalition

It is a fact that caregiving will impact everyone. Your role may be short-term, long-term or indefinite. Whatever your circumstances, your caregiving journey may be filled with uncertainty. The Caregiver Coalition provides resources and support to help you during this time.

Discounts!

Visit Operation $40K for a listing of national companies that provide discounts for those age 50 and better.

Register Online for 50 & Better Programs
First Coast Y 50 & Better  

Mission Statement: To put Christian principles into practice through programs that build healthy spirit, mind and body for all.